22 nd YOUNG COMPOSERS MEETING – February 13 – 19 2016

October 3, 2015 in All Opportunities, Composers by mwhiteside

22 nd YOUNG COMPOSERS MEETING – February 13 – 19 2016. Directors will be: Mayke Nas, Cassandra Miller, Martijn Padding and Richard Ayres. The YCM is organized by orkest de ereprijs in collaboration with the International Gaudeamus Muziekweek (Composition Competition) in co-operation with Podium Gigant. The intention of the Meeting is to give young composers (max. age 30 years) the opportunity to exchange ideas about contemporary music and at the same time being part of the learning process of composing with an ensemble at hand.

Requirements for participation of the Young Composers meeting 2015 are:

– Young composers up to 30 years of age and of any nationality are invited to apply for participation before October 15 2015. Do not forget to send a biography and at least 1 score of a recent composition and a tape or CD to orkest ereprijs, Postbus 1203, 7301 BL The Netherlands.
– The directors will make a selection of maximum 16 participants. At the beginning of November the applicants will be informed whether they are selected or not.
– The selected applicants are requested to enter a short work of about 3 minutes for orchestra de ereprijs. The 3-minute compositions will be rehearsed during the week and performed at the final concert.
– The 3 minute work should be entered before January 26, 2016.
– Details concerning the instrumentation of ‘orchestra de ereprijs’ will be communicated after the selection.
– The costs for participation are 400 Euro including meals and housing.
– The participants will be housed in shared rooms in a hotel in Apeldoorn.
– The participants have to take care of their own transport to Apeldoorn.
– At the closing concert, three promising composers will be commissioned to write a new composition.
– One composer will be commissioned to write a new work for the ensemble ereprijs, to be performed during their many concerts. The fee will be € 2.500,-
– A second composer will receive a commission for a solo work by the Internationale Stichting Masterclass Apeldoorn. The fee will be € 1.500,-
– A third commission will be granted by the Dutch National Youth Orchestra for their Summer Academy 2013. The fee will be € 2.500,-
– Fourth: granted by HGO – symphony orchestra from Arnhem – for RKST21 – orchestra of the 21st century – HGO en ereprijs – € 2.500

Directors will be: Mayke Nas, CAssandra Miller, Martijn Padding and Richard Ayres.
Gerda van Zelm, professor at the Royal Conservatory Den Haag will be coaching the singers. The meeting is chaired and supervised by Louis Andriessen.
The senior composers will also teach individually and take care of the lectures. The program will furthermore consist of concerts, lectures and an excursion to Kröller-Müller Museum.

For more information please visit: http://www.ereprijs.nl/application-form-ycm-2016/ycm/

Please apply before Thursday 15th October 2015.