Slideshow shadow

Scottish Awards for New Music 2020

The 2020 Scottish Awards for New Music will take place at 8pm on 14th April, broadcast on our YouTube channel. We will publish a link closer to the time but sign up to the event on Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube.

Large Scale New Work (11+ performers) sponsored by PRS for Music

David Fenessy : Conquest of the Useless

Stuart MacRae: Anthropocene

Thea Musgrave : Trumpet Concerto

The RCS Award for Contribution to New Music in Scotland

Cathie Boyd

Chamber Music Scotland

Drake Music Scotland

The RCS Award for Making it Happen

The Night With… : Matthew Whiteside

Nordic Viola : Katherine Wren

Benn Lunn : Diversions

The ISM prize for Collaboration

Physical Education : Robert Reid Allan / Sasha Balmazi-Owen / Richard Court

Diversions : Ben Lunn / Drake Music Scotland / Hebrides Ensemble / the Queen’s Hall in Edinburgh

Rough Breathing : Nichola Scrutton / Alex South

Scottish New Music Performer(s) of the Year

Sarah Watts

Richard Craig

Scottish Ensemble

Environment Sustainability

Below the Blanket : Cryptic

Chamber Music Scotland

Nevis Ensemble

The Dorico Award for Small / Medium Scale New Work (1 - 10 performers) sponsored by Steinberg

Two Panels for String Quartet : Alastair White

The Wet Desert - A Collection of Highland Perspectives : Lisa Robertson

The Tuning : Martin Suckling

Electroacoustic / Sound Artwork

Dhātu : Edwin Hillier

Listening Cave : Calum Scott

…shadows that in darkness dwell… : Timothy Cooper

Community/Education project

Tinderbox Collective

SCO Soundmoves

Sound Symphony : Ellie Griffiths with Sonia Allori, Shioi Usui and Greg Sinclair, Katy Wilson (designer) and Colin Grenfell (lighting)

The Good Spirits Co Award for Innovation in New Traditional Music

365 : Aidan O’Rourke and Kit Downes

The Reeling : Brighde Chaimbeul

Face to Face : Twelfth Day

Recorded New Work

Airs from Another Planet : Chamber Music and Songs by Judith Weir. Hebrides Ensemble/Delphian Records

Sensations of Travel : Chamber Music by Nigel Osborne. Hebrides Ensemble/Delphian Records

Panopticon : David Fennessy / Psappha / Hebrides Ensemble / Ensemble Modern / Münchener Kammerorchester / NMC

The SMIA Award for Creative Programming

The Night With… : Matthew Whiteside

Diversions : Benn Lunn / Drake Music Scotland’s Digital Orchestra and Hebrides Ensemble

Sound Festival : Fiona Robertson


New Music Scotland is proudly powered by WordPress and BuddyPress. Just another WordPress Theme by Themekraft.