Composers Competition​

January 13, 2016 in All Opportunities, Composers by mwhiteside

2016 Compeition Guidelines


  • Performance at the 23rd Season of the Portland Chamber Music Festival in Portland, Maine on Thursday, August 11, 2016

  • Performers at the 2016 Festival will include current members of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, the Chicago and Kansas City Symphonies, the Minnesota Orchestra, and many other renowned ensembles.

  • $1,000 cash prize!composers-competition/clix

Who May Apply:

We welcome submissions from any composer, regardless of age or citizenship. Previous winners of this competition are ineligible.

Instrumentation/Length/Other Criteria:

  • Instrumentation for 2016 submissions is Piano Quartet (Violin, Viola, Cello and Piano).

  • Works must be no longer than 15 minutes.

  • Works may have been performed, but may not have won a prize in any previous competition in Maine or elsewhere. Commissioned works are permissible.

  • Works must have been composed in 2011 or later and may not include a conductor or electronics.

  • Judges will consider suitability for preparation and performance by a professional ensemble with one week of rehearsal.

Items for Submission:

Please note: This competition will be judged anonymously. Include all materials

listed below as attachments via e-mail to

  • PDF of score with composer name removed

  • Live or MIDI recording in mp3 format with composer name removed from file name

  • Cover sheet with contact information including name, street address, e-mail address, and a one-paragraph biography as an attached document.

Application Deadline and Notification:

All materials must be submitted via e-mail no later than Tuesday, March 15, 2016. There is no application fee. PCMF will notify applicants of competition results by e-mail, no later than Monday April 4, 2016. For questions, please e-mail Operations Manager Maria Wagner at

The Portland Chamber Music Festival’s International Composers Competition is made possible with support from the

Mattina R. Proctor Foundation.