September 17, 2019 in by mwhiteside

Event Details

  • Date:

Afterlife is a cutting-edge new music and film project based around the fictional work Sum by bestselling author David Eagleman. Sum – 40 Tales from the Afterlives is a collection of vignettes exploring possibilities of post- death scenarios which, as well as revealing unexpected and inventive possibilities for the afterlife, provides us with a lens through which to view our current lives with striking clarity. The performance will consist of a new work by the rising star Scottish composer Jay Capperauld, whose thrilling conceptual works have been broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on numerous occasions and has attracted commissions by the likes of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestras and the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland. The music will be performed by two prizewinning graduates of the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, Lewis Banks (Saxophone) and Marianna Abrahamyan (Piano), whose combined abilities as a musical duo have earned them debut recitals at top London venues such as The Purcell Room and St Martin in the Fields in 2019. The performance will also seamlessly integrate a number of short films from Manchester-based director Paul Wright, whose recent film Fissure has been subject to strong critical acclaim.

New Cumnock Town Hall
31-33 Castle, New Cumnock, Cumnock KA18 4AN