Beethoven Plus 5: Krysia Osostowicz, violin and Daniel Tong, piano

September 2, 2015 in by mwhiteside

Event Details

Promoted by Aberdeen Chamber Music Concerts


Queens Cross Church

£12, £6 (u25, people in receipt of benefits), free for accompanying carers


Beethoven Plus is a Beethoven cycle with a new dimension: Krysia and Daniel invited ten composers to each write a short companion piece inspired by one of Beethoven’s ten violin sonatas. These new pieces – each about 5 minutes long – are heard together with the original sonatas, creating conversations between living composers and Beethoven, and shedding new light on what Beethoven’s music means to us today. The ten pairs will be played in five concerts over the next six days. Today’s concert comprises two of these pairs:


Peter Ash                  A Major Chase

Beethoven                   Violin Sonata no 2 in A major, op. 12 no. 2

Judith Bingham         The Neglected Child

Beethoven                   Violin Sonata no. 4 in A minor, op. 23

David Matthews          Sonatina

Beethoven                   Violin Sonata no. 10 in G major op. 96