Call for Scores

July 4, 2017 in by mwhiteside

Event Details

  • Date:

The University of St Andrews Music Centre and Scottish Chamber Orchestra are looking for new work to be featured in a concert on Wednesday 15 November in the Byre Theatre, St Andrews. The programme of the concert is:



St Andrews New Music Ensemble and Musicians from the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

Henry Purcell – Fantasia 7, transcribed by George Benjamin

Oliver Knussen – … upon one note, Fantasia after Purcell

New Work from Call for Scores

Ethel Smyth – Elegy for violin, horn and piano

Igor Stravinsky – Septet

Composers of any age and nationality are invited to submit unperformed, not yet premiered in the UK, or newly composed works for one of the following three instrumentations:


INSTRUMENTATION OPTION ONE: Clarinet, Horn, Bassoon, Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello

INSTRUMENTATION OPTION TWO: Clarinet, Violin, Viola, Cello, Piano

INSTRUMENTATION OPTION THREE: Clarinet, Violin, Cello, Piano


Newly composed works which ‘respond’ to the music of Purcell or Stravinsky would be particularly welcome. Submissions should not be longer than 10 minutes. Decisions of what score(s) are selected for performance will be made by musicians from the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and staff from the University of St Andrews.


Closing date: Monday 11 September, 2017

Selected score(s) announced: Monday 26 September, 2017


For any queries regarding instrumentation, length or brief please contact Bede Williams on


Submissions of PDF scores and parts should be sent to

The Scottish Chamber Orchestra is Orchestra in Residence at the University of St Andrews. The two organisations have enjoyed a close relationship over many years with the SCO presenting an annual five-concert season at the University’s Younger Hall, and this new designation is the first professional orchestra residency at a Scottish University.

In addition to the concert season, the University and the Orchestra collaborate on a number of innovative projects, including masterclasses and workshops, the St Andrews and Fife Community Orchestra (StAFCO), and an exciting series of lunchtime concerts giving the rare opportunity to hear SCO players in solo and chamber repertoire.

Formed in 2012, the St Andrews New Music Ensemble has built an enviable reputation for programming, commissioning and workshopping music by emerging and established composers from Scotland and beyond. The ensemble has already given over fifteen world premieres and worked with James MacMillan, Paul Mealor, Sally Beamish, Thea Musgrave, Tansy Davies, Eddie McGuire, John De Simone and Jeremy Thurlow. Recent highlights have included performances at Queen’s University Belfast, MacRobert Arts Centre Stirling, and the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall as part of the Glasgow MINIMAL festival. In April 2017, the ensemble was joined by musicians from the Scottish Chamber Orchestra in a concert of music by Cambridge-based composer Jeremy Thurlow.