September 27, 2017 in by mwhiteside

Event Details

Rautavaara Cantus Arcticus
Vaska Viola Concerto Scottish Premiere
Respighi Gli Uccelli
Copland Appalachian Spring

Olari Elts – Conductor
Maxim Rysanon – Viola


Birdsong is rife in the natural world of this delightful programme. Finn Einojuhani Rautavaara matches recordings of the Arctic’s avian inhabitants with orchestral imitations; Respighi’s birds are adapted from pretty numbers by 17th and 18th century composers. The well-known tune in Copland’s sweet and earthy Appalachian ballet is a Shaker spiritual, Simple Gifts – exemplified by the American composer in this work. One of the world’s most original soloists, Maxim Rysanov, joins the SCO and Estonian Olari Elts in the Viola Concerto by the conductor’s Latvian neighbour Pēteris Vasks.


Tickets available from the City Halls / 0141 353 8000