Gildas Quartet – Webern, Ligeti and Whalley

June 23, 2016 in by mwhiteside

Event Details

The critically acclaimed Gildas Quartet return to Edinburgh to perform a special concert celebrating Harry Whalley, the first composer in Residence for St. Vincents Chapel, Stockbridge. Featuring a newly commissioned composition A Report to History written specifically for the quartet and the chapel.

‘Métamorphoses nocturnes’ – György Ligeti
‘Five movements for string quartet’ – Anton von Webern
‘Seven Rocks’ – Harry Whalley
‘A Report to History’ – Harry Whalley

Gildas Quartet

Praised for their refreshing approach and exciting precision, the Gildas Quartet are fast establishing themselves as one of the most exciting young ensembles to emerge in recent years. They have performed to critical acclaim across the UK and Europe at major venues including the Purcell Room, Wigmore Hall, and live on BBC Radio 3. They will make their Bridgewater Hall debut later this year as part of the Manchester Mid-day Concerts series. Other recent projects have seen them give recitals at the Two Moors Festival to which they return immediately after this concert.

St Vincents Chapel

A Gothic gem, St Vincents was built by the brothers John, William & James Hay of Liverpool and opened in 1857. Since opening up for wider uses by the community in early 2015, St Vincents has rapidly become a highly prized hub for music making. Its compact size and outstanding acoustic mark it out as one of the most important venues for chamber music in Edinburgh.