Menuhin Centenary Series – Rachel Spencer and David Munn

March 23, 2016 in by mwhiteside

Event Details

Live Music Now Scotland will be hosting 3 concerts in Edinburgh and this one in Glasgow, where emerging artists will play specially commissioned new pieces to celebrate Menuhin’s centenary.

The first in the Menuhin Centenary Series will be on Menuhin’s birthday (22nd April), a free lunchtime concert, featuring Rachel Spencer (violin) and David Munn (cello). The young professional musicians will play two pieces by Edward McGuire, Dance Suite for Two, a piece commissioned by Live Music Now Scotland, and Mr Menuhin’s Delight, which was written for a project in 1985, where Menuhin teamed up with Scottish folk band Whistlebinkies, and performed with Scottish fiddlers during the Edinburgh International Festival.

Read more about Rachel on her website, or follow Rachel and David on Twitter, @rspencerviolin and @davidmunnmusic

WHEN: Friday, April 22 1.10-1.50pm
WHERE: Scottish Music Centre, 100 Candleriggs, Glasgow
FREE to attend, please register for a ticket via the Eventbrite link.