Modern Irish Music – ConTempo Quartet and Brennan-Cahill Duo

January 7, 2015 in by mwhiteside

Event Details

The Brennan-Cahill Saxophone-Piano Duo and the RTÉ ConTempo String Quartet will present a concert of Contemporary Irish Music in the Katherine Brennan Hall, Royal Irish Academy of Music, at 7pm, Friday, 30 January 2015. Modern Irish Music will present the contemporary music composed by Nick Roth: Quintet, Jane O’Leary Mystic Play of Shadows, Kevin O’Connell: Saxophone Sonata, Deirdre McKay: between, Matthew Whiteside: Laya, and Eric Sweeney: Three Pieces. The Brennan-Cahill Duo and ConTempo will together perform a programme of duos, trios, quartets and quintets.

Modern Irish Music is a concert designed to present the music being created in this country in an accessible and informative format. The programme has been selected with the goal of performing a broad range of works from the Contemporary Irish Music genre.

Nick Roth: Quintet (2010) saxophones and string quartet
Jane O’Leary: Mystic Play of Shadows (1995) string quartet
Kevin O’Connell: Saxophone Sonata (1987)
Deirdre McKay: Between (2006) baritone saxophone and cello
Matthew Whiteside: Laya (2010) soprano saxophone, piano, viola, cello
Eric Sweeney: Three Pieces (1999) violin, cello, piano / saxophone, viola, piano

Admission is free. Places limited so booking is essential.

Concert kindly hosted in the Katherine Brennan Hall by the Royal Irish Academy of Music (© Page Original & Official®)