SCO Wind Soloists – Summer Tour

May 24, 2017 in by mwhiteside

Event Details

Beamish – The Naming of Birds

Françaix – Quatuor
Mozart –  Serenade in C minor K388
Raff –  Sinfonietta

SCO Wind Soloists
Alison Mitchell, Brontë Hudnott – Flute
Robin Williams, Rosie Staniforth – Oboe
Maximiliano Martín, William Stafford – Clarinet
Peter Whelan, Alison Green – Bassoon
Alec Frank-Gemmill, Harry Johnstone – Horn

A delightful programme of music chosen and played by the acclaimed SCO Wind Soloists. Raff has been sadly overshadowed since his death, but if you love joyful, zesty music like Mendelssohn’s Octet you will greatly enjoy his Sinfonietta. Mozart’s Serenade is its dark twin: as operatic and dramatic as Raff is genial. Francaix cannot help but charm his audience, and his quartet is full of panache and a delightful joie de vivre. Sally Beamish’s enchanting piece gives every member of its quintet a chance to evoke a specific bird solo – so who will be the partridge, lapwing, linnet, barn owl or bullfinch? Please join us and find out.

Full Price: £20
U26s /Unemployed: £6

Ticket includes interval drink.
Accompanied carers go free. 

Tickets available from Fyvie Castle or on the SCO Website.