Scottish Chamber Orchestra

September 29, 2016 in by mwhiteside

Event Details

Overture, The Marriage of Figaro (4’)
Piano Concerto SCO Commission: World Premiere (c.30’)
Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme (36’)

Strauss once claimed that ‘the human soul was first revealed… in Mozart’s melodies”. Tonight’s programme juxtaposes the sparkling overture to Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro, an opera Strauss conducted many times, with a distinctly retrospective work – the charming, dance-like incidental music to Molière’s Le bourgeois gentilhomme. The programme includes a new Piano Concerto by Martin Suckling, commissioned for the SCO and Tom Poster. Suckling blurs the lines between soloist and orchestra, abandoning traditional ideas of the concerto as a vehicle for display for one in which “the piano sings the world into existence”.