Scottish Chamber Orchestra – Mozart Piano Concertos No 20 and 22

October 24, 2016 in by mwhiteside

Event Details

Chamber Symphony (13’)
Piano Concerto No 20 in D minor, K466 (30’)
A Cold Spring (10’)
Piano Concerto No 22 in E-flat, K482 (34’)

The fortepiano is the instrumental ‘technology’ – Kristian Bezuidenhout’s word – that Mozart knew and loved, and for which he effectively created his own genre in Vienna in the 1780s: the piano concertos that he would compose, perform, and sell in his subscription concerts as an independent musician in the capital of the Habsburg Empire. The E-flat Major and D minor concertos explore the grandest reaches of his virtuosities of technique and feeling: now tragic, now consoling, always contemporary – resonances amplified by music from Helen Grime and Thomas Adès.