Scottish Chamber Orchestra Nielsen and Sibelius 150

January 7, 2015 in by newmusicscotland

Event Details

McLEOD         Out of the Silence World Premiere (c. 18’)

NIELSEN        Clarinet Concerto (24’)

SIBELIUS       Symphony No 4 (36’)





A 150th birthday celebration for composers Carl Nielsen and Jean Sibelius! SCO Principal Clarinet Maximiliano Martín is a hugely charismatic player and will embrace the vibrant yet devilish Clarinet Concerto by the Dane Carl Nielsen, who was one of the most original and brilliant musical minds of the 20th Century. John McLeod draws a flavour of this same work in Out of the Silence. Sibelius’ Fourth Symphony evokes the organic beauty of Finland.


John McLeod’s new work is supported by RVW Trust and the Cruden Foundation


Perth, Glasgow & Edinburgh

Pre-Concert Talk: 6.30pm

Free to ticket holders

In conversation with John McLeod.