International Composition Competition “Michele Novaro”

August 12, 2016 in All Opportunities, Composers by mwhiteside

International Composition Competition “Michele Novaro”

The competition, supported by the Italian Parliament, is open to composers under 30. They must submit a composition of 7-10 minutes for small ensemble (7-15 instruments), as specified in the competition rules. The deadline is Sept. 30, 2016, and the first prize includes a fee of 5.000 euros and a contract with Sonzogno Music Publishing House. The final concert will take place at the Great Hall of Conservatorium in Turin, Italy, on Dec. 2, and will be broadcast by Italian National Radio, Radio3.

The application is completely free and anonymous (except for the three finalists, that will be invited to attend the final stage).

Article 1 – Object
The Associazione Mendelssohn, with the support of Italgas, hereby announces the First Edition of the «Michele Novaro» International Composition Competition. Michele Novaro (1818-1885) was the composer who, at the age of 25, wrote the music for the Italian National Anthem on a text by Mameli. The competition aims to stimulate composers to create “works” able to reflect on Italian identity and culture.

Article 2 – Admission requirements
The Competition is open to composers of all nationalities, who on 30 September 2016 are still under the age of 30. Candidates should submit to the jury a composition for Ensemble, lasting between 7 and 10 minutes, which is inspired by the values and themes of the Italian Constitution. In particular, composers should focus on the theme of the “Italian landscape”, which lies at the basis of article 9 of the Constitution. The work should involve at least 7 instruments, up to a maximum of 15 (only one instrument for each type), chosen from the following: violin, viola, cello, double bass, flute and/or piccolo (one player), clarinet and/or bass clarinet (one player), bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, saxophone, harp, percussion (maximum two players), piano.
The composition must absolutely be unpublished and unperformed until the end of the competition.
Candidates who have studied under one or more members of the jury, even occasionally or in a master class, will not be admitted.

Article 3 – Submission date
The deadline for the submission of manuscripts is 30 September 2016.
Registration is free. Each participant may only present one composition.

Article 4 – Registration and submission of scores.
Registration should be made through the site All candidates must register on the site and fill in the online application form, using the instructions provided. The following documents must be uploaded:
– scan of identity card or document giving proof of age and nationality;
– two recent photos;
– completed and signed form (downloadable from the site), containing the following information: home address and phone numbers for any necessary communications, and an email address, curriculum vitae in Italian and English, self-certification testifying to the originality of the composition, which must not have been published, performed or recorded, the candidate’s declaration that he/she has not studied under any of the members of the jury, and authorization for the performance, publication, recording and broadcasting of the work. Scores should be submitted through the site anonymously, both in PDF format, and in Sibelius or Finale format, following the instructions and the upload link given in the email received during the registration process.
The personal details of the composers of the three compositions selected for the final will be made known to the jury and public only when the results of the elimination phase of the competition have been announced. Composers who do not reach the final phase will continue to remain anonymous also after the end of the competition.

Article 5 – Phases of the competition
The competition will consist of two phases: the elimination phase and the final phase. In the elimination phase, which will conclude by 30 October 2016, the jury will select up to a maximum of 3 compositions which will pass into the final phase.
The works chosen for the final will be published on the site of the Competition on 31 October 2016 and the three finalist composers will be informed by email. The final phase of the competition will consist of an evening event open to the public in Turin to be held on 2 December 2016 in the Sala Grande of the “Giuseppe Verdi” Conservatory, during which the Ensemble di Musica Contemporanea del Conservatorio di Torino, directed by Giuseppe Ratti, will perform the selected works in a concert. After the performances the jury, who will be present in the concert hall, will meet and decide on the winner. The winning composition will be announced at the end of the evening.

Article 6 – Jury and voting procedure

In the elimination phase the jury will be made up of five members: Luca Lombardi (president), Stefano Belisari (Elio delle Storie Tese), Cristian Carrara, Giulio Castagnoli and Roberto Prosseda. The members of the jury will examine the submitted compositions independently and will indicate their choice of three scores electronically, giving them marks from 1 to 5. The three scores that obtain the highest total of marks will pass into the final phase. If there is a tie for third place, further votes will be cast (choosing between “yes” and “no”) exclusively for those compositions.
Should there be a further tie, priority will be given to the vote of the president of the jury. In the final phase, the jury will be joined by the Hon. Lorenzo Becattini, who conceived and promoted the Competition, which has already been presented to the Lower Chamber of Parliament. After the performance of the three pieces, the jury will meet behind closed doors. Each member will fill in a paper form stating their order of preference of the three works, giving number 1 to the piece to be assigned first place, number
2 to second place, and 3 to third. At the end of the voting, the marks assigned by each member will be read and the total for each composition will be calculated. The composition with the lowest total will be awarded the Novaro prize. In the case of a tie, preference will be given to the work that obtained most number ones. Should there be a further tie, priority will be given to the vote of the president of the jury. After the competition, and by the end of December 2016, the marks given by the jury will be published on the site of the competition, together with the title of the works submitted (without giving the name of the composers whose scores did not reach the final stage).

Article 7 – Prizes and expenses refund

The winner of the composition will be awarded the “Novaro” Prize, which includes:
– Publication of the work by the publishing house Sonzogno.
– Performance of the work in various concerts (to be defined).
– A money prize of 5.000 Euros (gross of withholding taxes).
In addition, the audience prize be awarded by the public attending the final evening, who will vote using a form handed out in the concert hall. It consists of 1.000 Euros (gross of withholding taxes).
The composers of the three works selected for the final will receive a refund of expenses amounting to 500 Euros for attending the final event. The Novaro prize cannot be split and the possibility of no prize being awarded is not foreseen. The decision of the jury is irrevocable.

Article 8 – Legal terms
Application to participate in the Competition implies the acceptance of the above-stated rules. In the case of contestations the Italian version of the announcement is legally binding. All disputes are subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the court of Milan.