Internationaler LANXESS–Kompositionswettbewerb für junge Komponisten

August 17, 2015 in All Opportunities, choral, Composers by newmusicscotland

In the framework of the festival ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln (EIGHT BRIDGES | Music for Cologne) a composition competition will take place for the sixth time in 2016. Composers up to 30 years are invited to present a new work for vocal sextet.
§ 1 Basic data of the competition
The jury will select three compositions for completion within ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln (30th
of April – 10th of May 2016). The jury consists of the following members:
• Prof. Johannes Schöllhorn, composer (Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln)
• Werner Wittersheim (editor WDR 3)
• Michael Ostrzyga, conductor of the final concert (UMD Universität zu Köln)
• tba
§ 2 Conditions of participation
1. All composition students born on or after 1 January 1986 are entitled to participate.
2. Deadline for the submission of applications is November 30, 2015. They have to be sent to ACHTBRÜCKEN GmbH and must meet the following requirements:
I. Five copies of the score have to be sent anonymously by registered mail.
Instructions for the performance have to be enclosed and scores must be easily
II. The submitted composition must never have been published, recorded and
performed before. Exception: Performances in the framework of conservatory or
university events. A detailed list has to be enclosed.
III. Candidates must ensure that nothing that could make it possible to identify
them appears anywhere on the score. Otherwise the work will be excluded from the competition. Each document has to be clearly labelled with the code name (title). This code replaces the candidates name and is the sole means of identifying the work.
IV. Permitted are works for vocal sextet with a maximum duration of 15 minutes.
3. In addition to the composition a sealed enveloped which is only labelled with the code name has to be sent. This must contain a data medium with:
I. the completed application form
II. a copy of the applicant’s passport (or ID Card)
III. a valid certificate of study
IV. a short biography including a work list
V. a current high-resolution photograph (300dpi on 10x15cm)
VI. a short work description (max. 15 lines) including the work title (code name)
4. The applications have to be submitted in English or German. Expenses for transmission will not be refunded by ACHTBRÜCKEN GmbH.
5. The material for the performance of the selected compositions must be sent to ACHTBRÜCKEN GmbH by February 15, 2016 and must be made available free of charge.
§ 3 Decisions of the jury
1. The jury will select the three finalists based upon its own artistic estimation by January 22, 2016. In case of a high quantity of applications throughout the jury is entitled to appoint an assistant jury. This does not restrict the jury’s power of decision.
2. The judges will announce the laureates following the performance. The jury’s decision is final and cannot be legally changed.
§ 4 Benefits for the finalists
1. The selected works will be realised within the framework ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für
Köln. In addition, documentation is planned.
2. ACHTBRÜCKEN GmbH is responsible for the organisation of all travel and hotel requirements during the rehearsal and concert period for the three finalist’s works and will bear all costs involved. Other costs will be covered by per Diems of € 20/day.
§ 5 Agreement
1. Non selected materials will not be utilized by ACHTBRÜCKEN GmbH; potential archival use will remain unaffected. The sent in scores will only be returned by request.
2. By participating in the competition, the finalists cedes to ACHTBRÜCKEN GmbH, free of charge:
I. The performance rights for the world premiere and for further performances within the framework of ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln.
II. The exclusive and unrestricted spatiotemporal right to record, reproduce and broadcast the finalist’s works within the context of ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln.
III. In addition, the right to communicate to the public all performances of the finalist’s works within the context of ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln, by all available communication media (television, radio, internet etc.), both in Germany and abroad.
3. The composer must ensure that the nominated work will not be performed publicly until the competition is finished.
Deadline for entries: November 30, 2015
ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln
Juliane Höttges Bischofsgartenstr. 1
50667 Köln
+ 49 (0) 221 – 20408392