Thailand International Composers Competition Rapee Sagarik Composition Prize

January 28, 2015 in All Opportunities, Composers by newmusicscotland

This year, the Thailand International Composition Festival – in cooperation with Mahidol University College of Music – offers the Thailand International Composers Competition for emerging composers (born after 1 January 1980), of all nationalities. Six (6) participants will be selected for TICF 2015 (6–-11 July 2015). Selected finalists will be eligible for all events of the festival and each will participate in a masterclass with the featured, internationally acclaimed composers, a public performance of the selected work by Vicennium Void, and admission to all concert events and lecture presentations. Past featured composers have included: Augusta Read Thomas, Ken Ueno, Bernard Rands, Xu Chang-Jun, Robert Beaser, Bright Sheng, Eric Moe, Chen Yi, Paul Patterson, Zygmunt Krauze, Zhou Long, Jim Mobberley, Ye Xiaogang, and many more. The competition prize of 1,500 USD will be announced at the Closing Concert on Saturday, 11 July 2015.

The TICF sponsors will provide finalists’ accommodation including hotel, meals, and local transportation. Finalists will be expected to provide their own travel expenses and arrangements to and from Bangkok, Thailand. Finalists are required to participate in the entire festival in order to be eligible for the prize, performance, and masterclass. TICF is sponsored by the College of Music Mahidol University and individual donors.

The Thailand International Composition Festival was established in 2005 with the goal of improving the standard of Composition Education in Thailand and Southeast Asia. This program intends to create opportunities for emerging composers, in order to develop their individual careers and achieve recognition for them.

The 6 finalist works will be performed by Vicennium Void. Vicennium Void, a contemporary music ensemble committed to commissioning and performing new works at the highest level, while maintaining a repertoire of contemporary masterpieces. The ensemble focuses on music composed during the last twenty years in addition to pieces that are being composed right now specifically for Vicennium Void. Both internationally renowned as well as up-and-coming composers are represented in the group’s repertoire, providing an exciting mixture of programming. The core ensemble consists of four musicians with solo and chamber music careers that span five continents. Between the four members, they have performed in halls such as New York’s Carnegie Hall, London’s Wigmore Hall, Beijing’s The Egg Concert Hall and the Amsterdam Concertgebouw and recorded for record labels such as Albany Records. The ensemble’s formation allows for a variety in programming, from quartets to trios, and duos, providing for exceptionally versatile collaborations with composers and other guest musicians. The ensemble consists of members Geoffrey Herd (Violin), Leah Gastler (Viola), Kevin Downs (Cello), and Christopher Janwong McKiggan (Piano). However, for TICF 2015, the instrumentation shall be drawn from violin, cello, and piano.

1) Applicants should be composers at the early stages of their professional careers.
2) Composers, regardless of nationality, are encouraged to apply.
3) Composers 35 and younger at the end of the competition year are eligible (born after 1 January 1980).
4) Scores that have been awarded, or commercially recorded are not eligible.
5) Past winners of the competition are ineligible to apply.
6) Any alteration of the score may be permitted under the guidance of master composers during the week of the festival.
7) The submitted work should be between 6‐10 minutes in length.
8) Submitted compositions can include any combination from the following instrumentation: violin, cello, and piano. Submitted composition will be rehearsed and performed by Vicennium Void (
9) Only compositions written within the last five years are eligible for submission.
10) One entry per applicant will be accepted.

1) Eligible submissions must be sent electronically as a single email and should include:
• A PDF file of the score (with pseudonym), which may include program and performance notes
• An mp3 file (audio recording, if available, Midi realization – ok), and
• A separate word document linking the pseudonym and title to the composer’s identity, which includes address, telephone number, e‐mail address, current bio (200 words), program note (200 words) & performance history of the submitted work.
2) The composer’s name should NOT appear on the submitted score and recording.
3) Links to recordings (due to large file size, or other factors) are o.k.
4) The deadline for submission is 1 April 2015. Please send material to: Mr. Nantpipat Vutthisak:

An honorarium of 1,500 USD will be awarded to the winner of the competition. All six finalists will be invited to participate in the Thailand International Composition Festival. The Thailand International Composition Festival will provide full accommodation including Hotel room, meals, and local transportation for all finalists. Travel expenses to TICF and other arrangements are the responsibility of the participant.

Six finalists will be announced no later than 30 April 2015. The Winner will be announced during the Final concert of TICF 2014 on Saturday, 11 July 2015.

Further inquiry, please contact:
Nantpeephutt Vutthizak ( or James Ogburn at (