December 5, 2014 in All Opportunities, Composers by newmusicscotland

The Eighth International Jurgenson Competition for Young Composers has been organized by Tchaikovsky Moscow State Conservatory, the Centre for Contemporary Music (Moscow) and the Jurgenson Charity Foundation.

For more information:

Open to: composers born after 15 February 1979.

The competition invites submissions in the following nominations:

  • a composition either for an ensemble of soloists or for voice and an ensemble of soloists (from 6 to 16 musicians inclusive);
  • a composition either for a string trio or for a string quartet;
  • a composition either for marimba solo or for a percussion ensemble (6 musicians maximum).

Duration: 15 minutes maximum.

The ensemble of soloists includes: 1 flute (alternating with either a piccolo or an alto flute), 1 oboe (alternating with an English Horn), 1 clarinet (alternating with a bass clarinet), 1 bassoon, 1 French Horn, 1 trumpet, 1 trombone, percussions (2 musicians), 1 piano, 1 harp, 2 violins, 1 viola, 1 cello, and 1 double-bass.

Instruments in scores for percussion ensemble must be grouped by performers.

The competition will only accept compositions that are unpublished and have not been performed publicly. Every applicant may submit compositions in two nominations maximum. No first-prize laureates of any previous seven Jurgenson Competitions may participate.

The Organizing Committee of the Competition may reject any application if it does not comply with its Regulations. The Competition Jury may: award special prizes, divide the prizes between several participants, award not all of the prizes and/or diplomas, as well as may withhold from awarding the Grand Prix. No member of the Jury who is or has ever been a competitor’s teacher may take part in the assessment of his/her composition(s).

The Jury Chairman: Prof. Vladimir Tarnopolsky (Russia).
Other members of the Jury will be announced later.

The Awards:

  • Grand Prix in the amount of 60,000 rubles;
  • First Prize in the amount of 30,000 rubles (per each nomination).

The laureates will pass the rights to publish their winning compositions to the Jurgenson Foundation.

The competition will have two rounds. Ten participants will be admitted to the Second Round upon results of selection of the scores. The prizes will be allotted upon completion of the Second Round according to the results of listening to the compositions at the dress rehearsal open for public. Pieces of the finalists will be performed by the Ensemble of Soloists of the Moscow Conservatory’s Studio for New Nusic and by Mark Pekarsky’s Percussion Ensemble on June 10, 2015 at the Rachmaninoff Hall.

Participation in the competition is anonymous. Each participant must submit:

  • 2 printed copies of the score with the author’s password on the title page (neither applicant’s name nor any other personal data shall be revealed);
  • the filled-out application form (upload the PDF file. Attention! Updated on Oct.24, 2014);
  • 2 photos of the applicant (of any kind) with the password on the reverse side.

The photographs, the scores and the applications will be accepted either personally or by registered mail postmarked not later than February 15, 2015. The participants admitted to the Second Round shall be obligated to submit the parts for the soloists not later than May 1, 2015.

The application package, marked “To the Organizing Committee of the International Jurgenson Competition for Young Composers,” should be submitted to the following address:

Tchaikovsky Moscow State Conservatory
Centre for Contemporary Music
13/6 Bolshaya Nikitskaya ulitsa, Office 316
Moscow, 125009 Russia
Tel./fax +7 (495) 690 51 81