UK Guitar Quartet Call for Scores

October 2, 2014 in All Opportunities, Composers by mwhiteside

UK Guitar Quartet: Call-For-Scores

Deadline: February 1, 2015

Vox Novus is calling for guitar quartet works 3-4 minutes in duration composed for UK Guitar Quartet to be premiered on May 31, 2015 for the Composer’s Voice concert series at the Jan Hus Church in New York City.

Guitar Quartet


-Works are for guitar quartet only. No solos, duets, or trios.
-Standard guitar tuning: EADGBE

-Works should be composed specifically for this call and ensemble.

-All pieces must be premieres and not previously performed.

-No works over 4 minutes will be reviewed.

-Multiple submissions are not accepted. Send your best work!

-Works need to be submitted online at

-You will need to register with Music Avatar for free to submit your work online.

-When registering make sure to upload a profile picture.

-After logging in to Music Avatar, select the opportunity named ” UK Guitar Quartet: Call-For-Scores” and press the “submit” button to start the submission process.

-You will need to provide a maximum 100-word biography and 100-word program notes.

-You will be able to upload a score as a PDF file (You may also upload an audio file; however it is not required.)

-Must include the dedication to UK Guitar Quartet on the score.

-Performance notes should be included in the score.

Results will be announced via the Composer’s Voice website and the new music newsletter: NM421

More can be found be found at:

The UK Guitar Quartet was formed for the express purpose of premiering Juan Trigos’ 25-minute, genre expanding Guitar Quartet (2009), which was commissioned by the Tantalus Quartet, but left un-premiered. A technically, musically, and rhythmically challenging masterpiece, the work redefines the guitar quartet with intricately interwoven rhythmic layers with four equally prominent parts. The UK Guitar Quartet is led by University of Kentucky guitar professor Dieter Hennings Yeomans, and joined by Dr. Jay Sorce, Andrew Rhinehart, and Jeremy Bass.