Concerts for a Summer’s Night

  • 17 Jun 2024, 8 p.m., Rossie Byre, Perthshire, Scotland, UK, None
  • 18 Jun 2024, 8 p.m., Strathpeffer Pavilion, Strathpeffer, Scotland, UK, None
  • 19 Jun 2024, 8 p.m., Aberdeen Art Gallery, Aberdeen, Scotland, UK, None
  • 20 Jun 2024, 8 p.m., National Museum of Scotland, EDINBURGH, None, None
  • 21 Jun 2024, 8 p.m., Kelvingrove Museum, Glasgow, Scotland, UK, None

Repertoire RAIN II, by David Fennessy

Our annual summer concerts bring vibrant string music to open, light-filled venues across Scotland. With a programme of music ranging from classical to contemporary, including the second part of our new commission from David Fennessy, Concerts for a Summer’s Night presents a sonic cocktail of bubbling melodies, sweet harmonies, and zesty rhythms. 

Returning for its third year, this tour is quickly becoming a highlight of our performance calendar – marking that special moment in Scotland when days stretch longer than nights, and you start to remember the feeling of the sun on your skin (even if it’s amidst the usual Scottish all-seasons-in-one-day!). 

  • Jörg Widmann 180 beats per minute
  • Edward Elgar Serenade for Strings (movement 2)
  • Tunde Jegede Dancing in the Spirit
  • Peter Sculthorpe Movement I from Jabiru Dreaming
  • Caroline Shaw Valencia
  • Sigur Rós arr. Guy Button Fljótavík
  • Felix Mendelssohn arr. Lynne Latham Violin Concerto in E minor (movement 1)
  • Ana Sokolović Innamorati from Commedia dell'arte III
  • Leoš Janáček arr. Jarmil Burghauser On an Overgrown Path
  • Jessie Montgomery Smoke from Break Away
  • Sufjan Stevens arr. Michael Atkinson Year of the Ox from Run Rabbit Run
  • David Fennessy RAIN II (world premiere)

The performance lasts approximately 70 minutes with no interval.

Performers Scottish Ensemble
Promoter Scottish Ensemble
Submitted by Scottish Ensemble

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.