Scottish Awards for New Music 2018


Winners of the 2018 Scottish Awards for New Music Photo - Iain Smart



Daisy Chetwin selected to design the awards for the Scottish Awards for New Music 2018. Find out more about her here.




Large scale New Work (11+ performers) sponsored by PRS for Music

  • Winner - Shiori Usui – from scratch
  • James MacMillan – Stabat Mater
  • Martin Suckling – The White Road


The Ginkhana Award for Innovation in new Traditional Music in association with Hands Up for Trad

  • Winner - Pippa Murphy / Karine Polwart – A Pocket of Wind Resistance
  • Mary Ann Kennedy / Nick Turner – An Dara Sealladh
  • James Lindsay - Strand



EVM Award for New Music Recording of the Year

  • Winner - The Last Island – Hebrides Ensemble / Peter Maxwell-Davies (Delphian Records)
  • Lacrymae – Ian Anderson / Duo Van Vliet (Orchid Classics)
  • Stabat Mater – James MacMillan / The Sixteen / Britten Sinfonia (Coro)

Dorico Award for Small / Medium Scale Work sponsored by Steinberg (1-10 performers)

  • Winner - Matthew Grouse – 10 Seconds
  • Stuart MacRae – Piano Sonata No 2
  • Timothy Cooper – Breathing Space


Holiday Inn Theatreland Award for New Electroacoustic / Sound Art Work

  • Winner - Michael Begg – Titan
  • Timothy Cooper – Breathing Space
  • Matthew Grouse – The Eye of the Storm


The Ginkhana Award for Innovation in new Jazz Music in association with Jazz from Scotland

  • Winner - Martin Kershaw - Playtime
  • Tommy Smith – The Spirit of Light
  • Chris Greive – Stemzells


Thomson's Coffee Roasters Award for Creative Programming

  • Winner - Sonica
  • Tectonics
  • Sound Festival

RCS Awards for Contribution to New Music in Scotland during 2017

  • Winner - James MacMillan
  • Lesley Wilson
  • Tectonics

RCS Award for Community/Education Project of the Year

  • Joint Winner - Kaleidoscope – The Cumnock Tryst / Scottish Ensemble / Colin Currie / Drake Music Scotland
  • Joint Winner - New Music Makers – Red Note Ensemble
  • Sonic Bothy – Sonic Bothy
  • De Profundis – East Neuk Festival / The Wallace Collection / Tullis Russell Mills Band


Help Musicians (UK) Award for New Music Performers of the Year

  • Winner - Mr McFall’s Chamber
  • Red Note Ensemble
  • Colin Currie

The ISM Award for Collaboration

  • Winner - Aeolian – Kathy Hinde / Andreas Borregaard / Maja S.K. Ratkje / Red Note Ensemble
  • Microscopic Dances – Oliver Searle / National Youth Orchestra of Scotlan / Drake Music Scotland
  • The Imperfection of Memory – Colin Broom / Heather Lander



Last year's awards

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.